Wednesday 8 July 2020

Osun Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) Registers 16 Political Parties for 2020 Osun LG Election.... Read the Commission's report on the 11th-26th June registration exercise

The Osun Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC) is getting set for the conduct of the 2020 Local Government in the state. To this end and in other to conduct a hitch free fair and credible local government Election, Electoral Commission (OSIEC) Commenced the registration of all the political parties in the State on Tuesday, 11th June 2020.

At the initial stage of the exercise, a total number of thirteen (13) political parties signified their intentions to participate in the 2020 Local Government/LCDA Areas election.

The political parties that showed their intentions are; Action Alliance(AA), African Democratic Congress (ADC), Accord (A), Social Democratic party (SDP), African Action Congress (AAC), New Nigeria people party (NNPP), Allied People Movement (APM), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), All Progressive Alliance(APGA), Peoples Democratic party (PDP), All Progressive Congress (APC), Zenith Labor party (ZLP) and Action Democratic party (ADP).      

Related Post;

Osun LG Election: 13 Political Parties Show Interest.... OSIEC Extends Closing date of expression of interest


When it was observed that, during the registration of the political parties exercise that a party named Action Congress ( AC) registered two different candidates for the Chairmanship post as well as for the Secretaryship posts respectfully. This issue was later resolved by the appropriate authority. Be that as it may, so as to give room for more political parties participation, OSIEC extended the closing date for the registration exercise period till Friday 26th June 2020, the extension of the event gave other room for more political parties registration, this afforded three political Parties the opportunity to be able to register.

The political parties that benefited from the extension are, Action People Party (APP), Labour Party (LP) and Young People Party (YPP).
At the end of the registration exercise, a total number of Sixteen (16) political parties were registered by OSIEC for the forthcoming L/G/LCDA etc election that ended on 26th June, 2020.

Read also;

Oyetola Swears In Chairman and Members of Osun Independent Electoral Commission (OSIEC)

No comments:

Post a Comment