Thursday 23 June 2022

Osun Assembly extends tenure of caretaker committees of LGs ...sets to screen new Commissioners... Read the list


The State of Osun House of Assembly on Thursday Reconfirmed and extended the tenure of Caretaker Management Committee in the Local Government Councils  and Local Government Development Area Councils.

This is just as the House of Assembly got another request from Governor of Osun,Mr Gboyega Oyetola for the Reconfirmation and Re-appointment of Commissioners and Special Advisers to fill vacant positions in the State Executive Council.

The Speaker, State of Osun House of Assembly, RT.Hon. Timothy Owoeye at plenary read out the request of the Governor on the confirmation of the Caretaker Committee Management held that the request is in tandem with Section 3(A)(i) (ii) (III) of the State of Osun Local Government Administration and Amendment 7 Law,(2021).

 The request letter read in part, “This is to bring to your notice that the 6 months term of the Caretaker Management Committee in the Local Government ,Councils,Local Government Development Area Councils will Expire on the 12th of July,2022.

"I hereby request the Distinguish State House of Assembly, Osun State to confirm the Appointment of the Caretaker Management to run the affairs of the Councils for another period of 6 Months “.

The speaker while commending the Governor, emphasized the need to prevent a vacuum in Local Government being the closest tier of Government to the people, harpening on the Insecurity level across the country noted that it is expedient to have a structured government at the Local Government Level.

Owoeye enjoined the Caretaker members to Improve on their relationship with the Assembly to ensure the welfare of the citizenry.

While requesting for the Confirmation and re-appointment of Commissioners and Special Advisers ,Governor Oyetola said “In line with the provisions of Section 192(2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as Amended ,I hereby Present the under listed nominees for consideration and confirmation by the House of Assembly into the Position of Commissioners/Special Advisers in the state of Osun  with a view to filling the vacant positions in the State Executive Council “.

The nominees are Mrs Giwa Latifat, Barr. Olaboopo Olubukola, Hon. Solagbade Oladepo, Hon.Henry Olaonipekun, Hon. Bakare Akande Aleem and Hon.Olanike Omoworare.

The Commissioners/ Special Advisers designates are to Submit 35copies of their resume to the House of Assembly on or Before Monday 27th June,2022.

The House of Assembly however constituted a 7 man  Committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Hon. Simeon Popoola to Screen the nominees.

No comments:

Post a Comment