Thursday 20 April 2023

10th Nat’l Assembly: “We Don’t Want Another Saraki” – Joe Igbokwe Declares

As the countdown to the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly continues, a chieftain of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State, Joe Igbokwe, on Wednesday said the ruling party “want someone who understands our needs”, not a Bukola Saraki-esque Senate President.

Saraki, then a member of the APC, emerged as senate president in 2015 against the preferred candidate of the party and then-National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The former Kwara State governor has since joined the main opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and is considered a traitor by APC chieftains and supporters.

“Searching for the president of the 10th Senate? Please, we do not want another Saraki and company that will want President Asiwaju to waste 4 years. We want someone who understands our needs,” Igbokwe wrote on his known Facebook page.

Presently, the top contenders for the Senate Presidency hot seat are the current senate president, Ahmed Lawan (Yobe North), Ali Ndume (Borno South), Akpabio Godswill (Akwa-Ibom North), Orji Uzoh Kalu (Abia North), Jibrin Barau (Kano-North), and Mohammed Sani Musa (Niger-East).



No comments:

Post a Comment