Friday 22 September 2023

ABUJA: FCTA Revokes Former Governors, Firms, Others Allocated Choice Land (Read details)

Many prominent Nigerians, some of them former ministers, ex-governors, non-serving senators, top politicians, and other categories of highly-placed individuals and firms, have lost the land allocated to them in Abuja by the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA).

The revocation order issued through a public notice was done as a result of failure to develop property or contravention of relevant laws.

Among those affected are: Ex-governors/Senators Liyel Imoke and Joshua Dariye. Imoke was Cross River State Governor while Dariye was served in Plateau State.

Also on the list are former Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) Kanu Agabi (SAN) and former Anambra State Governor Peter Obi.

Obi was presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in the February 25 presidential election.

Also revoked are properties allocated now deceased former public office holders, such as: the late Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye, former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) the late Ufot Joseph Ekaette and the late publisher of Leadership newspaper, Sam Nda-Isaiah.

There are 165 properties revoked by the FCTA in this batch.

Many companies have also lost their landed properties. These include: Trade Bank; Wema Bank; Julius Berger and Pearl & Diamond Properties Limited, among others.

FCT Minister Nyesom Wike, on assumption of office, hinted that owners of undeveloped plots and those who ran foul of the city’s Land Use Act, would forfeit ownerships of such land.

Yesterday’s statement by FCT Permanent Secretary Olushade Adeshola, gave effect to the minister’s warning.

The Permanenet Secretary said the measure was taken due to the violation and contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy.

The statement reads: “The Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) hereby informs the general public that the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, has in the exercise of the powers conferred on him under Section 28 (5) (a) and (b) of the Land Use Act, 1978, revoked the under-listed plots with names and titles as reflected in our records for continued contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy to wit non-development”.

The affected properties are scattered all over the various districts in the FCT – Utako; Katampe Extension; Idu Industrial Area; Asokoro; Jabi; Wuse; Wuye, Gudu and Maitama.

No comments:

Post a Comment