Friday 8 July 2022


Osun State College of Technology (OSCOTECH), Esa-Oke has beaten Osun State University (UniOsun) to emerge winners of the golden trophy of the 2022 edition of the State of Osun House of Assembly Speaker's cup.

The well attended grand finale of the Osun Speaker's cup, played at the Ilesa Grammar School football field, had in attendance the Rt. Hon. Timothy Owoeye, the Speaker of the State of Osun House of Assembly, representatives of the Osun State football Association, the All Progressives Congress (APC) leader in Ijesaland, Leader Kunle Odeyemi, the caretaker Chairman of Ilesa East local government, Aremo Lanre Balogun, Hon. Oladipupo Olaniyi, the Caretaker Chairman of Ilesa North East LCDA and soccer lovers across Ilesa and beyond.

VIDEO: Click on the image (UniOsun loses penalty kick)

VIDEO: Click on the image (OSCOTECH winning goal)

Earlier, the Federal Polytechnic, Ede had clinched the third place position with a bronze medal. While at the grand finale that ended 1-1, OSCOTECH beat UniOsun 5-4 on kicks from the penalty mark to win the golden trophy.

The Speaker's Cup football competition according to the organizer, Hon. Adebayo Rawlings, is one of the sporting events that was introduced and supported by Rt. Hon. Timothy Owoeye towards developing the physical and mental well-being of students of Osun tertiary institutions, fostering camaraderie and good interpersonal relationships, detect new talents and promoting the game of football in the state.

Apart from the scintillating display by both sides on the pitch, the impressive presence of students of Osun tertiary institutions led by their Students Union leaders and Ilesa Grammar School students added glamour to the grand finale which was watched by enthusiastic soccer lovers.

Rt. Hon. Timothy Owoeye in his speech showed his appreciation of the tolerance, display of sportsmanship and high level of maturity displayed by the students as he praised both teams after watching the encounter with a promise to continue to support the competition that will now become an annual sporting event.

VIDEO: Click on the image

Further more, Rt. Hon. Owoeye seized the opportunity to canvas for votes for the candidate of the APC, Mr. Adegboyega Oyetola at the July 16, 2022 Osun Governorship Election. 

Hon. Mrs. Titi Fadahunsi-Ajayi decorated the team of Federal Polytechnic Ede with bronze medals and runners up cash prize of N200,000, Aremo Lanre Balogun decorated the Uniosun players with the silver medals with the sum of N300,000 while the Speaker decorated the OSCOTECH with the gold medals, handed the captain of the team the gold trophy with the sum of N500,000.


Oladimeji Lasore reporting

No comments:

Post a Comment