Saturday 11 January 2020

Ijesa Sports Club 2020 Investiture & Merit award Ceremony Held in Great Pomp and Dignity; Read and See Pictures

The Investiture Ceremony of Ijesa Sports Club for the year 2020 was held with great pomp and dignity on Friday 10th January, 2020. The event was presided over by Chief Idowu Korede, who was elected as President of the Club in 2018. He is winding up his first term in office and there are indications that he will be vying for a second term.

The ceremony was conducted with a high degree of earnestness and passion with Ijesaland traditional rulers and chiefs having a strong and notable representation. "This Club is Ijesa Sports Club and not Ilesa Sports Club", Oba Agunsoye, the Elegboro of Ijebu-Ijesa asserted before he was inducted as one of the Clubs Royal Fathers.

Thus, the Investiture ceremony signifies a new development in the strategies of the Club towards contributing its quota to the call for unity in Ijesaland and to attract new members and enjoy more support from all over Ijesaland.

 The ceremony commenced with the Presidential speech delivered by Chief Idowu Korede. The speech given by him inspired and motivated the club members and the guests. In his speech, he appreciated the minutest of the efforts put in by the executive to make this event a grand success. He mentioned that one of the promises of his administration on its assumption of office is the repositioning of the Club  by critically reviewing the pillarship of the Club.

"However, I want to also use this special forum to aquaint this august assembly with the desperation of this administration in ensuring a total infrastructural of this great Club. We intend to construct Lawn Tennis, Squash court, Swimming pool to enhance the status of the Club and to enable us meet up the required standard of a Sport Club". Chief Korede announced.

At the ceremony, newly appointed patrons, patronesses and trustees emeritus were inducted and some distinguished Ijesa men and women received merit award.

Appointed and installed as Roya Patrons are:
1. Oba {Dr} Adetayo Hastrup, the Lemobi of Imobi-Ijesa
2. Oba. Engr. Moses Agunsoye, the Elegboro of Ijebu-Ijesa
3. Oba Cornelius Omisade Agboluaje, the Oloja of Ibodi

Appointed as Patron and Patronesses are:
1. Asiwaju Yinka Fasuyi
2. Chief {Barr.} Bunmi Adeoye
3. Dame Olayinka Obaleye
4. Erelu Olusola Agbeja Obada
5. Otuba Titilaoye Ponle

While the newly appointed Trustees emeritus are Major Akanbi Famakinwa (Rtd) and Hon. Gabriel Asomuyide.

Hon. Odunayo Ategbero, Dr. Abiodun Dekanmi Oginni and Chief Bayo Fagbulu were also installed as the Trustees of the Club respectively.

Some prominent personalities that have excelled in their professional and social callings were also recognized and given Merit Awards. In this category we have:

1. Dr. Tunde Faleye- Distinguished Personality Award for Human Development and Industry Competence

2. Hon. Sola Adewumi- Distinguished Award for Social Integration and People's Emancipation
3. Prince Kayode Arimoro- Distinguished Award for Responsible Leadership and People's Welfare
4. Engr. Segun Oyekunle- Distinguished Leadership Award in Human Welfare
6. Chief Abimbola Aluko- Distinguished Personality Award for Responsiveness to People's Welfare
7. Prince Ayoade Adelakun- Merit Award for Outstanding Services

8. Otunba Ayo Jare-Martins- Distinguished Leadership in Management and Social Development

9. Barr. Dosu Babatunde- Distinguished Award for Humanitarian Services and Community Building
10. Mr. Sunday Agunbiade- Distinguished Award for outstanding Services to Humanity

11. Rt. Hon. Timothy Owoeye- Distinguished Leadership Award for People's Welfare and Political Emancipation
12. Alhaja Aminat Bepo- Individual Merit Award for Outstanding Services
13. Engr. Hakeem Olugbode- Individual Merit Award for Outstanding Services

14. Engr. Yemi Oguntominiyi- Outstanding Personality Award in Engineering and Capacity Building.
15. Alhaja Kafayat Oyetola- Distinguished Woman of Virtue Award for Responsiveness to People's Welfare

16. Otunba Akeem Adesoji Olowoopejobori Distinguished Personality Award for Responsiveness to Community Needs and People's Welfare

17. Hon. Kenneth Jaiyeola Opebiyi, Merit Award for Outstanding Service
18. Mr. Toba Moses Komolafe, Merit Award for Outstanding Service
19. Mr. Olatunbosun Ajayi, Merit Award for Outstanding Service
20. Mr. Alaba Paul Busuyi, Meritorious Service Award of the Club.

The Ijesa Sports Club that currently has on the roll about seven hundred (700) Men and Women of repute, occupies a prestigious and enviable position in Ijesaland. The Club is affliated to many Clubs in Nigeria and these include, Osogbo Sports Club, Kano Club, Ikeja Club, Lagos Country Club, Ibadan Recreation Club, Lokoja Club, etc.

In Ijesaland, Ijesa Sports Club, is the only club with a member in the National Assembly. The Club is blessed with members in the State Legislature, and on the State's Executive Council. There are many members who are either Chairmen or Executive Secretaries of Local Governments in Ijesaland. Many of the members are the leading lights in businesses, entrpreaneurship and in key establishments in the State.

To join the Club contact the General Secretary on E-mail: [email protected]

More Photos: (All photos credit, Oladimeji Lasore)

No comments:

Post a Comment