Tuesday 7 January 2020

Read Why OSHA Declares the Purported Impeachment of Chairmen of Osogbo South LCDA and Olorunda LG Null and Void

The State of Osun House of Assembly has on Monday 6th of January, 2020 decided on the purported impeachment of the Chairmen of Osogbo South Local Council Development Area, Akeem Olaoye and Olorunda Local Government, Hon Munirudeen Anisu who were impeached by their parliamentarians over some alleged constitutional breaches.

During plenary which was presided over by the Speaker, Timothy Owoeye, the Chairman of the House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon. Festus Babatunde Komolafe presented the report of the House joint committee that investigated the manner in which the Chairmen were removed by their parliamentarians.

Hon. Komolafe noted that the parliamentarians erred in their procedural approach since the Local Government Area (Council Creation and Administration) Law of 2015 is clear on how a chairman or other principal officers could be impeached.

The plenary deliberated extensively on the report of the joint committee of the House on Local Government Chieftaincy Affairs , Judiciary, Legal Matters, Public Petitions and Human Rights and resolved that the parliamentarians failed to follow the laid down procedures as contained in Sections A, B, C and D of the State Local Government Administration Law, 2015.

Though, the parliamentarians have power to remove, suspend and even impeach their Chairman but the procedures must be followed.

In view of the anomalies observed in the procedure adopted by the Councils' parliamentarians, the House resolved not to identify with or promote illegality and therefore ordered the Chairmen and their parliamentarians to maintain the earlier existing status quo by reporting in their offices and should not involve themselves in any act that will disrupt the public peace.

Elaborating on the position of the House, Rt. Hon. Owoeye stated that the pronouncement of the House has not vindicated any party.

On the issue of the vacation order that the Parliamentarians should vacate their offices at the Local Government Development Area of Osogbo South, the House relied on Section 32, 11 of the State of Local Government Areas Administration Law 2015 because there was the need to make some clarifications and there was a lot of insinuations. The Law empowers the Assembly that may after necessary investigation remove or suspend any Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary to Local Government or official of any Local Government area or Local Government Development Area or Administrative office in the interest of peace, order and good governance of the State. The House did not issue any suspension or dissolution to Osogbo South LCDA parliamentarians, the order given was to the Councillors to vacate their offices pending the time that the House committee members will be carrying out their investigations.

There are laid down procedures that can lead to the impeachment of the Chairman. It should be noted that the position of the law clearly laid down some procedures in sections 19 and 58 of the State of Osun Local Government Area, Council Creation and Administration Law-2015". Hon. Owoeye said while urging the honourable members representing Osogbo State Constituency and Olorunda State Constituency to do their possible best to find a lasting solution to the crisis in their domain.

The members of the joint committee that did the investigation were, Hon. Festus Babatunde Festus Komolafe, Chairman House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Hon. Simeon Popoola, Chairman House Committee on Judiciary, Legal Matters, Public Petitions and Human Rights, Hon. Ajibola Maroof Olanrewaju, Deputy Chairman, House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

Others are Hon. John Babatunde Ibirogba, Hon. Adebayo Uzamot, Hon. Moshood Tunde Akande, Hon. Benjamin Gbenga Ogundipe, Hon. Babatunde Olateju, Mr. Raheem Sanusi, Secretary House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs and Mrs. Rachel Yousuf, Secretary House Committee on Judiciary, Legal Matters, Public Petitions and Human Rights.

Photo Credit: Gbenga Adeniyi

No comments:

Post a Comment