Wednesday 18 December 2019


Reported by Isaac Haastrup

Atakumosa High school, Osu has emerged winner of this year’s Iwude ijesa festival debate competition.

The lead debater representing Atakumosa high school , Gloria David who spoke against the topic “ ijesa people, are they developing their culture?" at the debate keenly contested by her school and  three other  schools namely Ilesa Government High School, Ilesa, Methodist High School, Ilesa and  Ibokun High School, Ibokun all in Ijesaland, won for herself a scholarship sponsored by Prince Bayo Michael, a philanthropist from Ilukosi Ijesa.

In her argument Miss David regretted that foreign culture has eroded the Ijesa rich culture as she challenged parents to be alive to their responsibilities of nurturing their children in line with culture and tradition for.

Describing culture as a way of life of a particular ethnic group, miss David urged Ijesa people to promote their culture through their choice of food , wears , games and most importantly use their dialect to communicate with one another, stressing that Iwude is playing a prominent role in preserving ijesa cultural heritage.

Earlier, in an opening remark, the moderator, Lumobi of Imobi Ijesa, Oba Adetayo Haastrup hinged the program on the need to get the students acquainted  to the culture and tradition as a way of safe guiding their future.

Appraising performances of the debaters, the chairman of the ocassion, Professor Rotimi Taiwo encouraged them to dig deep into the history of Ijesaland and use the culture of dressing, commerce and potency of alternative medicine of the sub ethnic group to drive home their points In subsequent editions.

Ilesa Government High School came second while Methodist High school went home with the third prize.

Meanwhile, Prince Bayo Michael also offered to pay WAEC fees for  Miss Gloria David from Atakumosa West who emerged the best speaker, Miss Abosede Ogbara from Methodist High School who came  second and Master Sola Makinwa who was the third best speaker.

In attendance were the Lumobi of Imobi Ijesa, Oba Dr Adetayo Haastrup, Chief  Afolabi Igbaroola, Professor Rotimi Tayo, Barrister Dupe Ajayi Gbadebo, Barrister Dosu Babatunde, Mr Dimeji Lasore, Prince Isaac Haastrup, Mrs Oluwabunmi Ogunniyi.

More photos (Credit, Wumi Precious and Dimeji Lasore)

No comments:

Post a Comment